LibGuides: Career Resource Center: Career Planning

MCTC Career Development Center

Am I Job Ready? Career Help
Create an account and complete some questions to find out more about what career(s) you might want to pursue! Use this site to identify your strengths and weaknesses, too.

Community Resources

Kentucky Career Center: Career Training Employer
Find a job, get help with your resume, locate unemployment resources, veterans resources, and more!

Government Career Resources

Search the online version of the Occupational Outlook Handbook. According to the government website, the OOH provides training and education needed for hundreds of careers, expected earnings, anticipated job availability, typical job responsibilities for specific careers and working conditions.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
For hundreds of different types of jobs—such as teacher, lawyer, and nurse—the Occupational Outlook Handbook tells you: -the training and education needed, earnings, expected job prospects, what workers do on the job and working conditions.
CareerOneStop
CareerOneStop issponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor.
Green Careers
Search government resources about green careers and jobs and find articles on green jobs from Occupational Outlook Quarterly.
Federal Government Jobs
Search for federal government job and find other employment information.
U.S. Dept. of Labor Bureau of Labor Statistics
he Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision making.

Check these out!

Cover Letter Magic by Wendy Enelow; Louise Kursmark
Call Number: HF5383 .I747 2006
ISBN: 9781593577353
Publication Date: 2009-11-01
Maysville CTC Book Stacks

Here are a few books available within the MCTC Libraries.

Resume Magic by Susan Britton Whitcomb
Call Number: HF5383 .H53 2008
ISBN: 9781593577339
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Maysville CTC Book Stacks

LearningExpress Library Tutorials

LearningExpress Library This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Offers job search and workplace skills improvement, skill building in reading, writing, math and basic science, career certification and licensure exam prep, college and grad school entrance test prep, GED test prep, and more.
- What's included? Includes interactive tutorials, practice exams, flashcards, articles and e-books.
You may browse content on this site before registering. Once you locate an individual learning resource (tutorial, practice test, article, flashcards, or e-book), that you would like to use, you will be prompted to register before you can access it. Registration also gives you access to “My Center,” where you can save any learning resource in progress for future completion, or to reuse an item.

To register from a computer on campus, click the “Sign In/Register” from the upper right side of the blue horizontal navigation bar at the top of any page of the site. Click the “Register” button to register as a new user, verify your institution and enter your information in the required fields, and then click “Register.”

For future visits, sign in as a Returning User with your email address as your username and the password you created at registration.

Image by Click on 👍🏼👍🏼, consider ☕ Thank you! 🤗 from Pixabay

ProQuest Career and Technical Education: Business

ProQuest® Career and Technical Education is the definitive source for vocational information. The database includes over 600 titles, with more than 500 available in full text. Both students and instructors can access the database to research virtually any technical topic, including: computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design and photography.

More Library Resources

Vocations and Career Collection
- Why search here? Provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
- What's included? Offers hundreds of current and applicable periodicals, from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
Job & Career Accelerator This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Provides an easy-to-use search tool with everything students need to find, apply for, and get hired into ideal positions.
- What's included? Information on careers, skills and interest assessments to match individuals with ideal career paths, how to create professional and competitive resumes and cover letters, search for jobs that fit your needs, give professional interviews and more.
You may browse content on this site before registering. Once you locate an individual learning resource (tutorial, practice test, article, flashcards, or e-book), that you would like to use, you will be prompted to register before you can access it. Registration also gives you access to “My Center,” where you can save any learning resource in progress for future completion, or to reuse an item.

To register from a computer on campus, click the “Sign In/Register” from the upper right side of the blue horizontal navigation bar at the top of any page of the site. Click the “Register” button to register as a new user, verify your institution and enter your information in the required fields, and then click “Register.”

For future visits, sign in as a Returning User with your email address as your username and the password you created at registration.
Career Preparation This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Are you preparing for a professional exam? Are you curious about a particular occupation or looking to improve your workplace skills? Begin exploring your future here.
- What's included? Ebooks, tutorials, practice tests, flashcards, and more.
You may browse content on this site before registering. Once you locate an individual learning resource (tutorial, practice test, article, flashcards, or e-book), that you would like to use, you will be prompted to register before you can access it. Registration also gives you access to “My Center,” where you can save any learning resource in progress for future completion, or to reuse an item.

To register from a computer on campus, click the “Sign In/Register” from the upper right side of the blue horizontal navigation bar at the top of any page of the site. Click the “Register” button to register as a new user, verify your institution and enter your information in the required fields, and then click “Register.”

For future visits, sign in as a Returning User with your email address as your username and the password you created at registration.

Resume-Writing eBooks

These books are available through the MCTC Library with the click of the mouse within the Ebsco eBook Collection!

Knock 'em Dead Resumes by Martin Yate
Call Number: Maysville Book Stacks HF5383 .Y38 2016
ISBN: 9781440596193
Publication Date: 2016-11-04
Expert advice on building a resume to get the job you want! Your resume is the most important financial document you'll ever create. When it works, so do you. Drawing on more than thirty years of experience, bestselling author Martin Yate shows you how to write a dynamic, effective resume that: Stands out in a resume database Builds a strong personal brand employers will want on their team Passes recruiters' six-second scan test Speaks to exactly what employers are looking for The new edition of this classic guide includes dozens of sample resumes as well as cutting-edge advice on resume-writing tactics. With Knock 'em Dead Resumes, 12th Edition, you'll grab employers' attention--and score the job you want.
Getting from College to Career by Lindsey Pollak
Call Number: Maysville Book Stacks LB2343 .P57 2012
ISBN: 9780062069276
Publication Date: 2012-01-31
Find a Job Through Social Networking by Ellen Sautter; Diane Crompton
Call Number: Maysville Book Stacks HF54.56 .S28 2011
ISBN: 9781593578176
Publication Date: 2010-10-01

Check these out!

Below are just a few books on career planning available!

Jobs That Matter by Heather Krasna
Call Number: Multiple locations
ISBN: 9781593577872
Publication Date: 2010-06-01
Maysville CTC Career Books
Top 100 Health-Care Careers by Saul Wischnitzer; Edith Wischnitzer
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781593578091
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
Top 100 Careers Without a Four-Year Degree by Laurence Shatkin
Call Number: Maysville Career Books HF5382.5.U5 F375 2012
ISBN: 9781593578701
Publication Date: 2011-08-01
Rowan Center (Maysville CTC) Book Stacks

Check these out!

Here are a couple books available through the MCTC Library to help you sharpen your interview skills!

Acing the Interview by Tony Beshara
Call Number: Maysville Book Stacks HF5549.5.I6 B4715 2008
ISBN: 9780814401613
Publication Date: 2008-01-23
301 Best Questions to Ask on Your Interview by John Kador
Call Number: HF5549.5.I6 K3 2010
ISBN: 9780071738880
Publication Date: 2010-03-17
Maysville CTC Book Stacks

Career Statistics

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision making.

Career Resource Center: Career Planning

MCTC Career Development Center

Community Resources

Government Career Resources

Check these out!

LearningExpress Library Tutorials

ProQuest Career and Technical Education: Business

More Library Resources

Resume-Writing eBooks

Check these out!

Check these out!

Career Statistics

Kick-start your career!