Photo Credit: Galt Museum & Archives on The Commons (Flickr)
Photo Credit: Australian National Maritime Museum on The Commons (Flickr)
Photo Credit: Keene Public Library and the Historical Society of Cheshire County (Flickr)
Photo Credit: The Library of Virginia
Photo Credit: Keene Public Library and the Historical Society of Cheshire County
If you need help, contact us through our library staff contact form.
You may also visit our FAQ page to see if you can find the answer to a question!
To reach library staff at each campus, use the following telephone numbers:
Maysville Campus: (606)301-6206 or (606)301-6190
Rowan Campus: (606)780-6366
Licking Valley Campus: (859)569-4755
Montgomery Campus: (859)274-9642
Hours of operation vary at each campus library. Check library hours here.
If you would like to schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian for a research assignment, click on the link below!
Our library resources are available online 24/7 for your use! Having a problem accessing the library databases? Go to the Off-Campus Instructions library guide.
NOTE: Students may see a login error when accessing electronic library resources. This error is generally caused either by an expired authentication token or a prior sign-in attempt in progress. To avoid this error, you can close the browser and reopen it in a "private" or "incognito" window. You may also fix this problem by going to your browser settings to the search history and clear/delete the data from websites you have visited and clear the cookies saved in the history. Then, close the browser and reopen it.
Check out the library's e-book collections!
When you are searching the databases in your research, consider the following tips:
For a tutorial on how to use CINAHL/MeSH Headings, click here.
Below are just a few drug reference books available at MCTC campus libraries. Some may be checked out and some may be located in the Reference areas, meaning they cannot be checked out. Books about medicine can be found in the Library of Congress Classification on the shelves in the area of the "R's." Ask if you need help finding a book!
Nursing2022 Drug Handbook by
THE #1 Drug Guide for nurses & other clinicians...always dependable, always up to date! Look for these outstanding features: Completely updated nursing-focused drug monographs featuring 3,500 generic, brand-name, and combination drugs in an easy A-to-Z format NEW! 32 brand-new FDA-approved drugs in this edition, including the COVID-19 drug remdesivir--tabbed and conveniently grouped in a handy "NEW DRUGS" section for easy retrieval NEW! Thousands of clinical updates--new dosages and indications, Black Box warnings, genetic-related information, adverse reactions, nursing considerations, clinical alerts, and patient teaching information Special focus on U.S. and Canadian drug safety issues and concerns Photoguide insert with images of 439 commonly prescribed tablets and capsules Plus FREE online companion Toolkit Monthly FDA updates featuring newly approved drugs, indications, and warnings Pharmacology videos, audio pronunciation guide, and English-Spanish translator Equianalgesic dosing guidelines for opioid drugs Mechanisms and sites of action graphics for selected drugs NCLEX®-style questions, free CE tests, plus bonus discounts...and more!
NCLEX-RN Drug Guide: 300 Medications You Need to Know for the Exam by
Always study with the most up-to-date prep! Look for NCLEX-RN Drug Guide, seventh edition, ISBN 978-1-5062-2347-6, on sale August 1, 2017.
Essentials of Psychiatry in Primary Care: Behavioral Health in the Medical Setting by
An innovative psychiatry textbook that presents behavioral disorders from the perspective of what is seen in medical settings The goal of Essentials of Psychiatry in Primary Care is not to make psychiatrists out of medical clinicians, but rather, to help clinicians manage common behavioral conditions that most often present in a medical setting. Essentials of Psychiatry in Primary Care seeks to integrate medicine and psychiatry --- as the authors' systems-based biopsychosocial model proposes. The book identifies physical symptoms as a common mode of presentation of mental health problems and describes how to integrate them with psychological symptoms to make diagnoses of mental disorders. Essentials of Psychiatry in Primary Care also details a behaviorally defined, evidence-based mental healthcare model that can be effectively used in a medical setting. The combined experiences in primary care of the authors --- who specialize in both general internal medicine and psychiatry --- provide the perfect background for a book of this nature. Having trained medical students, as well as internal and family medicine residents since 1986, their experience and research demonstrates the information they outline is effective and associated with improved mental and physical health outcomes.
Medical Dosage Calculations for Dummies by
Score your highest in a medical dosage calculations course A recent shortage of nurses in a society with an aging population has triggered the demand for students to enter the field of medical study. A dosage calculations course is required for most students earning an applied science degree in nursing, pharmacology, or paramedic programs. Medical Dosage Calculations For Dummies tracks a typical dosage calculations course and provides helpful content in an approachable and easy-to-understand format. Plus, you'll get examples of the various calculations made to determine the appropriate quantity of drug or solution that should be administered to patients. Calculating drug dosages utilizing ratio-proportion, formula, and dimensional analysis Systems of measurement, including metric and apothecary and other conversion equivalents for a global audience The ins and outs of the charting systems for MAR (Medicine Administration Records) If you're one of the hundreds of thousands of students aspiring to enter the medical field, Medical Dosage Calculations For Dummies is your ticket for scoring your highest on exams.
Lippincott Review for NCLEX-PN by
Lippincott Review for NCLEX-PN , 11E is designed to help pre-licensure nursing students in practical and vocational nursing programs prepare to take the licensing examination. The book content is divided into comprehensive yet manageable sections. More than 2,000 questions are organized across five major units. The first four units correspond to specialty areas of nursing practice: (1) The Nursing Care of Adults with Medical-Surgical Disorders; (2) The Nursing Care of the Childbearing Family; (3) The Nursing Care of Children; (4) The Nursing Care of Clients with Mental Health Needs. The four major units are further subdivided into a total of 17 separate review tests, with the bulk of the tests aligned with the medical-surgical nursing unit, which is the most common clinical area where new practical nurses are employed. All questions reflect a specific category and subcategory of client need. A fifth unit consists of a two-part Comprehensive Examination containing a total of 263 items. Taken in total, the Comprehensive Examination provides practice with more than the maximum of 205 questions asked on the NCLEX-PN. Another feature is the sections containing the Correct Answers and Rationales and Test Taking Strategies, which follow each review test and comprehensive examination. These sections provide the best answer to each test question; the rationale for the correct answer, and reasons why the other answer choices are incorrect; a test taking strategy to guide the selection of the answer to the question; the Cognitive Level of the question; and the Test Plan Category and Subcategory. Additionally, the book contains a detailed review of Frequently Asked Questions, designed to provide information about the NCLEX-PN testing process, how the test is designed, and suggestions on how to prepare for the examination. The questions align with the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) 2017 PN test plan and are written in the style used on the licensing examination. Other features include the use of all the types of alternate-format questions found on the licensing examination, detailed rationales for both correct and incorrect answers, and information about the NCLEX-PN. This edition contains expanded numbers of alternate-format items and more photos and illustrations, to enhance the learning experience for visual learners. An accompanying free trial of PassPoint PN provides book purchasers an opportunity to practice with additional questions and gives a sneak preview of the full PassPoint PN product.
Need help? Try these links.
Visit the MCTC Library homepage to learn more about all of our services and resources, including interlibrary loan, "Book A Librarian," booking study room and more!
What's included? Offers complete coverage of all four of the core sections and the review and practice needed.
What's Included? Offers intensive practice preparation for TEAS testing with 5 full-length practice tests thoroughly updated to reflect the exam's new format.
You may search these library databases for scholarly information, such as peer-reviewed journals, pharmaceutical tools, and interactive anatomy study resources.
The MCTC Libraries have A&P models and a histology set for you to study! Just ask at the front desk and have your student photo ID card ready to check out the models and equipment.
The Maysville Campus Library has the following models:
The Licking Valley Campus Library has the following:
The Montgomery Campus Library has the following:
The Rowan Campus Library has the following:
Below are just a few books available to check out at the MCTC Libraries for nursing care plans.
All-In-One Nursing Care Planning Resource by 
Nursing care plans : diagnoses, interventions, and outcomes by 
Pearson Nursing Diagnosis Handbook by