• 1 Padcaster Studio
• 2 Swivl devices
• 2 iPads (for the Padcaster and Swivl)
• 2 GoPro Hero7 with accessory kits
• 3 vlogging video cameras and tripods
• 3 graphics tablets
|
Swivl CX Unboxing on Youtube
Printable Step by Step Audio Guide - Print just the page you need! Teachers like to print out 1 page to keep next to their Swivl for the first few times they do setup. Our setup guide features Android and iOS mobile devices.
Charging (You should plan on 6 hours to charge the Swivl robot base from fully dead to fully charged). |
Marker Muting during Live Stream
Sanitizing the Swivl Kit
MCTC faculty may check out the CVE Toolkit items according to the following policies:
2. Earn your Engaging Video: Explorer digital badge by viewing training materials provided by the KCTCS Office for Professional Development and Innovation.
3. Certain equipment in the toolkit will be designated for CTE faculty/staff to have priority use. Gen-Ed faculty may use when not in use by CTE faculty. Video/vlogging cameras and graphics/pen tablets do not have a Perkins designation and may be used by all faculty/staff.
4. Faculty must present their employee ID card to check out the toolkit items.
5. Items will check out for 1 week.
6. Items should be used on campus.
7. Refer to Information Technology staff and the Academic Coordinator for assistance with the equipment.
8. Any files and recordings on the devices should be deleted prior to returning to the library.
9. All components must be returned! A checklist may be provided at check-out, and is available for printing from this library guide for each tool.
10. Faculty MUST complete the Classroom Virtual Expansion Toolkit Faculty Report (link is below) upon return of the toolkit items.
Other Information to Know:
Check on devices and/or with IT staff to use specific applications that have been loaded onto devices, such as Camtastia, for basic editing of projects. You may use Open Broadcast Software (OBS), an open-source application recommended for video recording for projects created using the CVE Toolkit.
Explore the resources below for tutorials and traininig for implementing the CVE Toolkit.
Excellent Online Teaching: effective strategies for a successful semester online by
Drawing on nearly a decade of teaching online, and many years working as a technical adviser and faculty developer in higher education, author Aaron Johnson will walk you through sixteen distinct characteristics of excellent online teaching.
What you'll learn:
- Strategies for connecting with your students
- Effective ways to save time in grading
- Ways to give your students meaningful feedback
- How to communicate effectively in the online environment
- How to begin and end your course with excellence
- How to effectively facilitate online discussion
Preview the table of contents for more
Excellent Online Teaching also has a companion website with resources for each chapter. Because this is a rapidly changing field, this book focuses on enduring online teaching methods. The companion website contains updates, technical helps, and other resources.
"My hope is that you'll end the semester with a new level of confidence and with course evaluations that let you know that you are on the right track. More importantly, I hope that you and your students will be experiencing a vibrant learning relationship. If you have been teaching online for a while, I think you'll find some ways to improve your game." - Author, Aaron Johnson
The Online Teaching Survival Guide by
Essential reading for online instructors, updated to cover new and emerging issues and technologies The Online Teaching Survival Guide provides a robust overview of theory-based techniques for teaching online or technology-enhanced courses. Covering all aspects of online teaching, this book reviews the latest research in cognitive processing and related learning outcomes while retaining a focus on the practical. A simple framework of instructional strategies mapped across a four-phase timeline provides a concrete starting point for both new online teachers and experienced teachers designing or revamping an online course. Essential technologies are explored in their basic and expanded forms, and traditional pedagogy serves as the foundation for tips and practices customized for online learning. The tips cover course management, social presence, community building, integration of new technologies, discussion and questioning techniques, assessment, and debriefing, along with new coverage of intensive or accelerated courses, customizing learning strategies, developing expertise, advanced course design, and assessment techniques exclusive to this new second edition. The theory and techniques of successful online teaching can be significantly different from those used face-to-face. With more and more classes being offered online, this book provides a valuable resource for taking your course to the next level. Understand the technology used in online teaching Learn specialized pedagogical tips and practices Examine new research on cognition and learning Adopt a clear framework of instructional strategies The explosion of online learning has created a demand for great online teachers. Increasingly, faculty who normally teach face-to-face are being asked to cover online courses'yet comprehensive pedagogical resources are scarce. The learning curve is huge, and faculty need a practical approach to course design and management that can be quickly and easily implemented. The Online Teaching Survival Guide provides that essential resource, with a customizable framework and deeper exploration of effective online teaching.
Design for How People Learn by
In Design For How People Learn students discover how to use the key principles behind learning, memory, and attention to create materials that enable their audience to both gain and retain the knowledge and skills they're sharing. Updated to cover new insights and research into how we learn and remember, this edition includes new techniques for using social media for learning as well as two brand new chapters on designing for habit and best practices for evaluating learning, such as how and when to use tests. Using accessible visual metaphors and concrete methods and examples, Design For How People Learn will teach students how to leverage the fundamental concepts of instructional design both to improve their own learning and to engage their audience.
Online Teaching at Its Best by
Bring pedagogy and cognitive science to online learning environments Online Teaching at Its Best: A Merger of Instructional Design with Teaching and Learning Research is the scholarly resource for online learning that faculty, instructional designers, and administrators have long been awaiting. Over 70 percent of degree-granting institutions offer online classes, and while technical resources abound, the courses often fall short of integrating the best practices in online pedagogy, even if they comply with online course design standards. Typically these standards omit the best practices in teaching and learning and the principles from cognitive science, leaving students struggling to keep the pace, understand the material, and fulfill their true potential as learners. This book fills the gap, providing evidence-based practices for online teaching, online course design, and online student motivation integrated with pedagogical and cognitive science to help you build the distance learning courses and programs your students deserve. As more and more students opt for distance learning, it's up to designers and instructors to rethink traditional methods and learn to work more effectively within the online learning environment, and up to administrators to provide the needed leadership. Online Teaching at Its Best provides practical, real-world advice grounded in educational science to help online instructors, instructional designers, and administrators deliver an exceptional learning experience. Adopt new pedagogical techniques designed specifically for online learning environments Ensure strong course alignment and effective student learning for online classes Increase student retention, build necessary support structures, and train faculty more effectively Integrate research-based course design and cognitive psychology into graduate or undergraduate programs Distance is no barrier to a great education; what do stand in the way are inadequate online course design and implementation and deficient faculty training and support--all of which administrators can mitigate. Online Teaching at Its Best will help you ensure that your online classes measure up to the rigor and quality of excellence in teaching and assessment, build in the personal touch for developing a learning community and equip your students to succeed in the next challenge.
Leaving ADDIE for SAM Field Guide by
Make your foray into successive approximations successful and as easy as possible. In the 2012 bestseller, Leaving ADDIE for SAM, learning professionals were introduced to the Successive Approximation Model (SAM) and the Savvy Start--the key to a successful project kick-off. Together, these concepts incorporate contemporary Agile processes that simplify design and development, yielding more energetic and effective learning experiences. This companion Field Guide provides the job aids, tools, and templates you need to put the SAM methodology in motion and take your ISD practice to new heights. Complete with a foreword by Michael Allen, this book is an essential resource to create better, faster training products and "move the needle" on current training efforts. In this book, you will: * Apply the principles and concepts behind Leaving ADDIE for SAM. * Update your training products with these contemporary, Agile design processes. * Use the job aids, tools, and templates provided to work on actual projects.
Michael Allen's Guide to E-Learning by
Explore effective learning programs with the father of e-learning Michael Allen's Guide to e-Learning: Building Interactive, Fun, and Effective Learning Programs for Any Company, Second Edition presents best practices for building interactive, fun, and effective online learning programs. This engaging text offers insight regarding what makes great e-learning, particularly from the perspectives of motivation and interactivity, and features history lessons that assist you in avoiding common pitfalls and guide you in the direction of e-learning success. This updated edition also considers changes in technology and tools that facilitate the implementation of the strategies, guidelines, and techniques it presents. E-learning has experienced a surge in popularity over the past ten years, with education professionals around the world leveraging technology to facilitate instruction. From hybrid courses that integrate technology into traditional classroom instruction to full online courses that are conducted solely on the internet, a range of e-learning models is available. The key to creating a successful e-learning program lies in understanding how to use the tools at your disposal to create an interactive, engaging, and effective learning experience. Gain a new perspective on e-learning, and how technology can facilitate education Explore updated content, including coverage regarding learner interface, gamification, mobile learning, and individualization Discuss the experiences of others via targeted case studies, which cover good and not so good e-learning projects Understand key concepts through new examples that reinforce essential ideas and demonstrate their practical application Michael Allen's Guide to e-Learning: Building Interactive, Fun, and Effective Learning Programs for Any Company, Second Edition is an essential resource if you are studying for the e-Learning Instructional Design Certificate Program.