LibGuides: Journal/Magazine Articles: Journal/Magazine Articles

Research On-the-Go!

Image by Welcome to all and thank you for your visit ! ツ from Pixabay

Need Help?

If you need help, please let us know! Ask A Librarian by email.

To schedule an appointment for research help, Book a Librarian!

Can't get into the databases? Go to the Off-Campus Instructions for assistance with the library resources off-campus.

Follow the MCTC Library on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest!

MCTC Facebook
- This link opens in a new window
Like us on Facebook! Keep up with what we can do for you!
MCTC Pinterest
- This link opens in a new window
See what we like and what is helpful for you!
MCTC Library YouTube Channel
Watch videos to help you with the research process and how to access library resources from anywhere!

Search Our Journal Titles A to Z!

MCTC Library Journals A-Z
Search here to find TITLES of scholarly journals and magazines available within the MCTC library subscription databases.

Journal/Magazine Article Databases

Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window

What's included? Covers thousands of full-text biographies.
CareNotes System
What's included? Source for evidence-based patient education materials, covers conditions, treatment, laboratory tests, follow-up care, psychosocial conditions, continuing health and wellness, and the most frequently administered drugs.
Link goes to a landing page for IBM Micromedex. Choose CareNotes link.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
Journal, newspapers, and reference sources provided by the Kentucky Virtual Library.
Gale
What's included? Includes full-text journal articles and newspapers to archives and eBooks.
LearningExpress Library This link opens in a new window

What's included? Includes interactive tutorials, practice exams, flashcards, articles and e-books for job search and workplace skills improvement, skill building in reading, writing, math and basic science, career certification and licensure exam prep, college and grad school entrance test prep, GED test prep, and more.
You may browse content on this site before registering. Once you locate an individual learning resource (tutorial, practice test, article, flashcards, or e-book), that you would like to use, you will be prompted to register before you can access it. Registration also gives you access to “My Center,” where you can save any learning resource in progress for future completion, or to reuse an item.

To register from a computer on campus, click the “Sign In/Register” from the upper right side of the blue horizontal navigation bar at the top of any page of the site. Click the “Register” button to register as a new user, verify your institution and enter your information in the required fields, and then click “Register.”

For future visits, sign in as a Returning User with your email address as your username and the password you created at registration.
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window

What's included? Covers all genres and time periods with plot summaries, essays of literary criticism, author biographies, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems, classic and contemporary short stories, and author biographies, plus lesson plans and literary study guides.
Micromedex
What's included? Information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine to stay informed on clinical diagnosis and treatment decisions.
Link goes to a landing page for IBM Micromedex. Choose Micromedex link.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context

What's included? Topics include capital punishment to immigration to marijuana, supports subject areas in science, social studies, current events, and language arts.

For more scholarly databases, click here.

Free Online Articles

ProCon.org: Free Article Website
"ProCon.org is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit public charity that has no government affiliations of any kind. Our purpose is to provide resources for critical thinking and to educate without bias."
Directory of Open Access Journals
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
HighWire Free Journal Articles
Offered by Stanford University, HighWire Press touts itself as the largest archive of free full-text science on Earth!

Journal/Magazine Articles: Journal/Magazine Articles

This is better than Google!

Need more help using the Library Search Box? Follow this short tutorial to get tips for more effective searching!

Research On-the-Go!

Need Help?

Follow Us

Search Our Journal Titles A to Z!

Journal/Magazine Article Databases

Free Online Articles