Physical Therapy Assistant Program: Library and Online Resources

When you are searching the databases in your research, consider the following tips:

• Make a list of possible search terms you can type in the search box of a particular database. Combine terms for advanced searches to focus your searches more specifically.
• Pay attention to suggested search terms that many databases provide to you. These may help you become aware of additional terms you may need to search for your research.
• Be aware that databases and catalogs often organize subject-specific information according to thesauri or a general subject classification, such as Library of Congress Classification (LCC). The use of this specialized terminology and vocabulary means you may need to search not only for natural language terms such as "babies" but also "infants" to find appropriate information. Additionally, medical databases, such as CINAHL may use the U.S. National Library of Medicine's Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) and provide this vocabulary within "headings" that you may search and explore related subheadings.

For a tutorial on how to use CINAHL/MeSH Headings, click here.

e-Journals in

   EbscoHost Database: Academic Search Complete

• PT In Motion
• PT: Magazine Of Physical Therapy
• Physical & Occupational Therapy In Geriatrics
• Physical & Occupational Therapy In Pediatrics
• Physical Therapy
• Physical Therapy Reviews

   EbscoHost Database: CINAHL

• Physical Therapy In Sport
   

​​​​​​​   EbscoHost Database: MEDLINE

• Physical Therapy Research

You may search these library databases for scholarly information, such as peer-reviewed journals, pharmaceutical tools, and interactive anatomy study resources. 

The MCTC Libraries have A&P models and a histology set for you to study! Just ask at the front desk and have your student photo ID card ready to check out the models and equipment. 

The Maysville Campus Library has the following models:

• Two sets of disarticulated human skeleton models
• Giant heart model
• Full-body muscle model
• Leg muscle model
• Arm muscle model
• Human torso model
• Brain model
• Uterus and ovary model
• Microscope/histology set

The Licking Valley Campus Library has the following:

• Disarticulated human skeleton model
• Brain model
• Human torso model
• Neuron model

The Montgomery Campus Library has the following:

• Leg muscle model
• Arm muscle model

The Rowan Campus Library has the following:

• Disarticulated muscle model
• Full-body muscle model