It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Astronomy Resources: Essay Research Sources
Use this guide to find appropriate, scholarly resources for your essay assignments.
This is better than Google!
The Library Search Box provides you with access to many full-text electronic resources such as scholarly journal and magazine articles, newspaper articles and e-books. Primo also serves as the library catalog for MCTC Libraries and allows you to find print books, DVDs and other materials available within our campus libraries. You can search the library resources 24/7 on any computer or device with Internet access to find a host of scholarly resources to use for you class assignments!*
Why search here? The Proquest Databases provides access to alternative and independent press - magazines, journals and newspapers articles, vocational information and career search resources, health and medical research database for openly available content related to the COVID-19 outbreak, multidisciplinary collection of e-books, nursing research, clinical skills development, and curriculum support, and full text for publicly available content from a number of different sources from around the world.
What's included? A diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and other timely sources.
Why search here? Allows users to search news articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields.
What's included? Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts, and transcripts. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
NOTE: Students may see a login error when accessing electronic library resources. Often, this error occurs when using Google Chrome. This error is generally caused either by an expired authentication token or a prior sign-in attempt in progress.
To avoid this error, you can close the browser and reopen it in a "private" or "incognito" window. It is recommended that college students and employees always use private browsing to access library electronic content. Using a browser other than Chrome may also prevent this error from occuring. You may also fix this problem by going to your browser settings to the search history and clear/delete the data from websites you have visited and clear the cookies saved in the history. Then, close the browser and reopen it.
Astronomy Journals Available Online
These are just a few journals that are searchable through the MCTC Library. You may find more resources sources within Primo (see box above) or by searching databases individually, such as EBSCOhost, Gale CENGAGE and ProQuest (see box to the left).