As you learned in ENG 101, there are many different types of information sources you may use to seek and search for information. Remember, consider your information need (personal, scholarly, etc.) as you choose your sources when seeking APPROPRIATE and CREDIBLE sources!
Databases: These are authoritative resources that index citations or full-text availability of articles, often in PDF format, on a wide variety of subjects. You can go directly to Primo to search most MCTC Library databases!. Databases can also provide access to specific formats and information content such as photographs, graphs, videos or audio files. The MCTC library subscribes to many databases, such as ProQuest, and provides access to EBSCOHost through the Kentucky Virtual Library. NOTE: Take notice of the TYPE of journal article you are looking at online! Some are scholarly, professional journals while others are written for the general population. A number of sources found in databases are REVIEWS or COMMENTARIES so make sure you are choosing the type of source that is best suited to your research assignment.
Book publishers: This group includes trade book presses, university presses, textbook publishers, professional publishers and self-publishing companies.
Newspapers: These are available in the library in print and through backdates and online through our Newspaper Resources guide.
Government publications: Many such reports and documents are available online through trusted websites such as the U.S. GPO and American Factfinder. States and local municipalities also publish information online.
Audiovisual resources: Videos, DVDs, books on CD and audio CDs are available to check out at your campus libraries. MCTC Library also provides online A/V resources such as Encyclopedia Britannica Media Collection and Library of Congress Digital Collection.
Primary documents: These include photographs, letters, diaries, speeches and other first-hand accounts (see boxes below).
Various websites: Try to determine who is producing the information. Wikipedia is a source to be used cautiously and is best used for finding original sources listed at the end of each article for further reference. Organizations, for-profit and non-profit, use the Internet as a platform to share their message(s) to sell, inform or persuade viewers. BE AWARE that some organizations may be publishing misinformation to purposely mislead viewers!
Personal Interviews: There may be times when you will need to interview someone with specific, first-hand knowledge to gather information. An interview should be cited in academic papers you write for college.
The widely-accessible Internet has allowed anyone to create webpages and produce content! With the openness of the Internet, however, you will need to be cautious about the sources of information available and their reliability. Be particularly cautious about using sources from social media and blog websites.
Whatever sources you use, be sure to apply evaluation criteria (i.e. SCRAPP test under "Evaluating Information") and make sure you include the correct citation of each source within your paper and on your works cited or references page!
Doing research can involve looking for different types of sources, such as primary and secondary sources. Be familiar with the differences between these two types of sources.
Primary Sources: Primary sources are original historical records created at the time historical events occurred or well after events in the form of memoirs and oral histories (see box below for databases and websites with primary sources). Examples of primary sources include:
Secondary Sources: Secondary sources are documents written based on the information provided by primary sources and offer historical perspective or an author's interpretation or analysis. Secondary sources often provide an opinion or particular viewpoint. Examples of these kinds of sources include:
Information is created IN CONTEXT. This means a creator shares their knowledge or opinion with their own authority (expertise), background (life experiences) or interests (personal affiliations). A writer's or creator's background and opinions can influence the manner in which they present information or arguments and point of view. For example, information can be created in the following contexts:
When you search for information, recognize there could be other viewpoints or perspectives associated with a particular issue and that everyone sees the world through different "lenses."
Also, realize everyone INTERPRETS information, based on their own personal perspective and worldview. Recognize your own rationale for choosing what information you seek and follow!
Image by Karolina Grabowska from Pixabay