Image by Igor Link from Pixabay
As you begin searching and exploring the information available on your research topic, you may find that you are either finding a lack of materials on the topic or that you are overwhelmed with the information available.
Here's what you should do if:
1.) Your topic is too broad. Find a way to limit the depth or scope of your search. Narrow or restrict the topic to something, such as a certain aspect of a subject or issue, you can deal with that will not be so overwhelming as you are searching for information.
2.) Your topic is too narrow. Find a way to expand your topic to include a wider range of information that can be retrieved through your research.
If you still have problems following one of these strategies, it could be time to consider another topic but check with the library first! Below are some useful links to help you develop research questions and gain control over the research process overall.
Any time you use a quote, summarize, paraphrase or in any way refer to works created by other authors, you must provide an appropriate citation within your research paper as well as a separate comprehensive Reference (APA) or Works Cited (MLA) page listing all sources used in your work.
There are different citation styles or formats used by authors for their research, such as MLA (Modern Language Association) or APA (American Psychological Association).
Although MLA format is typically within most diciplines within the liberal arts, always consult your syllabus or ask your instructor to find out which format you need to use to cite your sources.
This guide will provide you with some library resources as well as online websites to help you cite it right!
According to the Encyclopedia Britannica Online, "plagiarism is the act of taking the writings of another person and passing them off as one's own. The fraudulence is closely related to forgery and piracy—practices generally in violation of copyright laws."
It is considered plagiarism when you use another author's work and do not provide a citation or give credit otherwise!
The process of finding information can present many challenges and one of the most highly cited models for the information seeking process in library and information science is the Information Search Process (ISP), developed by Carol Collier Kuhlthau, Professor II Emerita for the Department of Library and Information Science, Rutgers University. According to Kuhlthau's research website, the process of gathering information can be an emotional journey, often guided by feelings, thoughts and actions. Kuhlthau's research states that information seekers may experience uncertainty, frustration, confusion, doubt and optimism throughout the process of gathering information. Be prepared for the research journey to take you on detours!
While research can be overwhelming and frustrating at times, it can also be rewarding! Keep in mind the following when beginning a new research assignment:
Finding information for course-related assignments is an integral part of your college experience. For many students, research is an overwhelming task. By developing a research strategy when you receive an assignment, you can break the process up into more manageable tasks. Below are three essential questions to consider as you begin to develop a research strategy.
1.What is the assignment?
2.What sources should I consult?
3.What are the most appropriate information sources to use?
There are many resources available to you but many are not authoritative or scholarly. Become familiar with the library resources or ask a librarian what resources are available to you and which are appropriate for your research project!
Below are examples of sources that can be used for research for course assignments. Always check with your professor if you have questions!
Databases: These are authoritative resources that index citations or full-text availability of articles, often in PDF format, on a wide variety of subjects. You can go directly to Primo to search most MCTC Library databases!. Databases can also provide access to specific formats and information content such as photographs, graphs, videos or audio files. The MCTC library subscribes to many databases, such as ProQuest, and provides access to EBSCOHost through the Kentucky Virtual Library. NOTE: Take notice of the TYPE of journal article you are looking at online! Some are scholarly, professional journals while others are written for the general population. A number of sources found in databases are REVIEWS or COMMENTARIES so make sure you are choosing the type of source that is best suited to your research assignment.
Newspapers: These are available in the library in print and through backdates and online through our Newspaper Resources guide.
Government publications: Many such reports and documents are available online through trusted websites such as the U.S. GPO and United States Census Bureau. States and local municipalities also publish information online.
Audiovisual resources: Videos, DVDs, books on CD and audio CDs are available to check out at your campus libraries. MCTC Library also provides online A/V resources such as Encyclopedia Britannica Media Collection and Library of Congress Digital Collection.
Primary documents: These include photographs, letters, diaries, speeches and other first-hand accounts.
Various websites: Try to determine who is producing the information. Wikipedia is a source to be used cautiously and is best used for finding original sources listed at the end of each article for further reference.
Personal Interviews: There may be times when you will need to interview someone with specific, first-hand knowledge to gather information. An interview should be cited in academic papers you write for college.
Whatever sources you use, be sure to include the correct citation of each source within your paper and on your works cited page!
Peer-reviewed journals, or refereed journals, are more commonly published electronically but these titles are published by and for a particular professional audience to provide current research in a field of work. Therefore, the focus of a peer-reviewed journal is narrow, covering only certain topics. For articles to be published, the author(s) work must meet certain criteria set by the journal and the work must be reviewed by other professionals, or "peers," in the field who agree on the validity of the work. This review process ensures that the article is accurate and relevant to the journal's audience. Peer-reviewed journals can present ground-breaking research and discovery to potentially bring about new and innovative approaches to a profession.
Peer-reviewed journals differ in several ways from general-audience publications. Below are features you will commonly see in these kind of professional publications:
Authority: The author(s) credentials are often included to indicate their expertise and knowledge in the field of work.
Abstract: This is a summary of the article and the main ideas that will be presented, including the methodology and conclusions of the research.
Specialized language: A peer-reviewed journal will often use specific terminology and technical terminology used in a professional community, assuming that the audience is already knowledgeable with this language.
Methodology: Peer-reviewed journal articles may provide original research, experiments or studies done in the field. The article will provide background information, an overview of the methods used in the research, results and discussion, and conclusions.
In-text citations: Other journal articles and sources are frequently referenced within peer-reviewed journals. This is the process of how information is created and how scholarship and knowledge is advanced.
Supporting Images: Scholarly articles often contain diagrams, charts, graphs, or other visual representations to provide additional documentation of the research presented.
References: This page is provided at the end of the article to provide a full citation of all sources cited within the text of the paper.
Volume and Issue: Professional journals typically publish a volume annually, and assign issue number by month or quarter in most cases. The volume and issue of an article are an essential piece of its citation. For example, Volume 5, Issue 2 of a journal would be denoted as 5(2) in the citation.
Lack of advertising: Peer-reviewed journals may have little or no advertising. The journals rely on the work and contributions of the authors/creators to have content to publish. The journals can be published in different and complex ways, such as through a publisher that makes the content available through a subscription or through open-access journals that allow professionals to view the research at no cost.
For more information about peer-reviewed, or scholarly articles, view Anatomy of a Research Article by Stephanie Wiegand, University of Northern Colorado.
When it is time to do research for your classwork, search library resources first to find scholarly information provided by authoritative sources! The Internet can be a useful resource to find general information but is not the best place to search for academic purposes. Since anyone can create websites and upload information to the Internet, it can be tricky to determine which sites are appropriate for personal or scholarly research.
As a student, you must learn how to evaluate these web resources to determine if the information you find is appropriate for your research. The library can provide the information your instructors expect you to research and use for assignments. The library has access to information in print, non-print, and online.
Plagiarism can be DELIBERATE or UNINTENTIONAL. Whenever you borrow words or ideas, you MUST acknowledge their source to give the author/creator credit and to respect their intellectual property!
The following situations almost always require citation:
--excerpt from Plagiarism.org
For more help understanding plagiarism and citation for research papers, consult the library's Citation Guide.
When searching within online databases, it is important to use common search techniques and tools to gather the most specific and appropriate information that relates to your research topic. Doing so will narrow your search results considerably, saving you time and headache. After deciding upon a list of keywords or search terms and a particular database to search, you are ready to get started! One method of searching involves using Boolean Logic. Within most database interfaces, this means you will chose AND, OR or NOT to search for certain information you specify, such as title, author or keyword.
Example: leaves AND trees
Example: rivers AND lakes AND streams
Example: leaves OR trees
Example: rivers OR lakes OR streams
Example: leaves NOT trees
Example: rivers NOT (lakes OR streams)
(Note: Terms and operators in parentheses are performed first.)
Below are some basic search strategies to employ within library databases and online, including:
If you need help, please let us know! Ask A Librarian by email.
To schedule an appointment for research help, Book a Librarian!
Can't get into the databases? Go to the Off-Campus Instructions for assistance with the library resources off-campus.