Library Assignments: Doing the Research

Finding information for course-related assignments is an integral part of your college experience. For many students, research is an overwhelming task. By developing a research strategy when you receive an assignment, you can break the process up into more manageable tasks. Below are three essential questions to consider as you begin to develop a research strategy.  

1.What is the assignment?

2.What sources should I consult?

3.What are the most appropriate information sources to use?

There are many resources available to you but many are not authoritative or scholarly. Become familiar with the library resources or ask a librarian what resources are available to you and which are appropriate for your research project! 

Use the worksheet below to help you guide and organize your next research project!

Writing a thesis is one of the most challenging tasks in working on a research paper and will focus the direction of your work. Below are some websites to help give you some pointers!

• Thesis Statement Tips  (OWL at Purdue University)
• Writing a Thesis Statement  (Dartmouth College)
• Thesis Statements (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)

Doing research can involve looking for different types of sources, such as primary and secondary sources. Be familiar with the differences between these two types of sources.

• Primary Sources: Primary sources are original historical records such as letters, manuscripts, diaries, memoirs, speeches, interviews, government documents, photographs, audio recordings and oral histories, videos or other objects or artifacts relating to historical events or works of art. records created at the time historical events occurred or well after events in the form of memoirs and oral histories. Primary sources may include
• Secondary Sources: Secondary sources are documents written based on the information provided by primary sources and offer historical perspective or an author's interpretation or analysis. Examples of these kinds of sources include journal and magazine articles, newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias and textbooks.

Below is a short list of examples of types of resources to consider consulting when working on a research project. Keep in mind you can cite 59 kinds of sources using EasyBib, an automatic citation maker that MCTC Library provides for you! Check the MCTC Library Citation Guide for more help with research citation. Whatever sources you use, be sure to apply evaluation criteria beforehand and make sure you include the correct citation of each source within your paper and on your works cited page.

1. Books: These are available through MCTC in print or electronic versions.
2. Databases: These are authoritative resources that index citations or full-text availability of articles, often in PDF format, on a wide variety of subjects. Databases can also contain additional formats and information content such as photographs, graphs, videos or audio files. The MCTC library subscribes to many databases, such as ProQuest, and provides access to EbscoHost through the Kentucky Virtual Library.
3. Newspapers: These are available in the library in print and through backdates and online through our Newspaper Resources guide.
4. Audiovisual resources: Videos, DVDs, books on CD and audio CDs are available to check out at your campus libraries. MCTC Library also provides online A/V resources such as FilmsOnDemand and INTELECOM Online Health Videos, just to name a few.
5. Primary documents: These include letters, diaries, interviews and other first-hand accounts. You can gather these from a variety of sources, including through your own interviews.
6. Government documents: Many such documents are available online through trusted websites such as the U.S. GPO and Census.gov. States and local municipalities also publish information online.

The process of finding information can present many challenges and one of the most highly cited models for the information seeking process in library and information science is the Information Search Process (ISP), developed by Carol Collier Kuhlthau, Professor II Emerita for the Department of Library and Information Science, Rutgers University. According to Kuhlthau's research website, the process of gathering information can be an emotional journey, often guided by feelings, thoughts and actions. Kuhlthau's research states that information seekers may experience uncertainty, frustration, confusion, doubt and optimism throughout the process of gathering information.

While research can be overwhelming and frustrating at times, it can also be rewarding! Keep in mind the following when beginning a new research assignment:

• Don't wait until the last minute to start your paper or project!
• Be realistic. Don't expect your research paper or project to be effortless! The research process does take some thought and time and you may need to change your strategy or even your topic.
• If you have the choice of a topic, you may consider chosing one that you feel passionate or angry about.
• Make sure you understand what you are expected to do in completing the assignment.
• Develop a strategy to complete the assignment but be prepared to adjust this strategy as you encounter challenges.
• Don't go to Google or Wikipedia immediately! The library provides access to many authoritative sources and tools that you should use first.
• Don't be afraid to ask for help! Librarians can help you find appropriate resources for your research assignment and we want you to ask! Your success is our priority.

When reading or working on an assignment, you should conduct your research with a critical eye. As you read or view your research sources, consider not only the content provided by the writer(s) but its purpose and how it is written. Consider the who is the audience for which it was written and evaluate the supporting information provided by the author. Does the author use unbiased or emotionally-charged language? Learn to distinguish between fact and interpretation. Draw your own conclusions!

• Methods for reading critically by Walden University
• How the Language Really Works: The Fundamentals of Critical Reading and Effective Writing by Dan Kurland (www.criticalreading.com)

If you need help, please let us know! Ask A Librarian by email. 

To schedule an appointment for research help, Book a Librarian! 

Can't get into the databases? Go to the Off-Campus Instructions for assistance with the library resources off-campus.