It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Criminal Justice Resources: Online Resources
Use this guide to locate MCTC and online resources related to criminal justice, law enforcement and government.
Search Primo, NOT Google!
Primo is a one-search discovery service that provides you with access to many full-text electronic resources such as scholarly journal and magazine articles, newspaper articles and e-books. Primo also serves as the library catalog for MCTC Libraries and allows you to find print books, DVDs and other materials available within our campus libraries. You can search Primo 24/7 on any computer or device with Internet access to find a host of scholarly resources to use for you class assignments!*
Why search here? Excellent place for general research. Provides complete coverage of academic disciplines.
What's included? Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences, and more. Offers access to video content from the Associated Press, the world’s leading news agency. Videos relevant to the search terms will appear in a panel in the result list. With footage from 1930 to the present and updated monthly, this collection of more than 75,000 videos with a wide variety of topics.
Getting Articles? While most articles are full text some might be citation only, just click on the Get Articles icon and complete the form. The library will notify students when article arrives..
Covering behavioral and social science research and literature, APA PsycInfo is unmatched as a resource for locating scholarly research findings in psychology and related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
What's included? Full citation and summaries for journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and electronic collections.
Getting Articles? Request copies of articles by clicking on the Get Articles icon and complete the form. The library will notify students when article arrives.
Why search here? Covers a broad range of subjects relevant to sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, social and cultural structure and more.
What's included? Full-text scholarly journals and coverage spanning over a century.
Getting Articles? While most articles are full text some might be citation only, just click on the Get It! icon and complete the form. The library will notify students when article arrives.
Why search here?Provides free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
What's included? Includes free access to articles from journals that deposit their content in the archive. Access to the material in PMC is free, but use of the material still is subject to the copyright and/or related license terms of the respective authors or publishers.
Getting Articles?Articles are full text but are still protected by copyright. They are made available under a Creative Commons or similar license that generally allows more liberal redistribution and reuse than a traditional copyrighted work.
Plagiarism can be DELIBERATE or UNINTENTIONAL. Whenever you borrow words or ideas, you MUST acknowledge their source to give the author/creator credit and to respect their intellectual property!
The following situations almost always require citation:
turning in someone else's work as your own
failing to put a quotation in quotation marks
giving incorrect information about the source of a quotation
changing words but copying the sentence structure of a source without giving credit
copying so many words or ideas from a source that it makes up the majority of your work [also called "fair use" in copyright law], whether you give credit or not
NOTE: Students may see a login error when accessing electronic library resources. Often, this error occurs when using Google Chrome. This error is generally caused either by an expired authentication token or a prior sign-in attempt in progress.
To avoid this error, you can close the browser and reopen it in a "private" or "incognito" window. It is recommended that college students and employees always use private browsing to access library electronic content. Using a browser other than Chrome may also prevent this error from occuring. You may also fix this problem by going to your browser settings to the search history and clear/delete the data from websites you have visited and clear the cookies saved in the history. Then, close the browser and reopen it.