It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dual credit students are entitled to the same library resources and services as other KCTCS students. The library can be wherever you are! You can access your college library’s online resources from anywhere, at any time. (You will need to use your KCTCS username and password when prompted.) The KCTCS libraries participate in the Kentucky Virtual Library (KYVL), giving you access to even more online databases, books, articles and audiovisual materials. This guide will help you locate and use these resources and services!
Info You Need to Know!
As an MCTC student, you can check out books or DVDs from the campus libraries. To do this, you'll need a Student Photo ID card! You can have your card made at each campus library - be prepared to show your class schedule on a device or paper, along with a driver's license or other form of photo identification.
NOTE: Students may see a login error when accessing electronic library resources. Often, this error occurs when using Google Chrome. This error is generally caused either by an expired authentication token or a prior sign-in attempt in progress.
To avoid this error, you can close the browser and reopen it in a "private" or "incognito" window. It is recommended that college students and employees always use private browsing to access library electronic content. Using a browser other than Chrome may also prevent this error from occuring. You may also fix this problem by going to your browser settings to the search history and clear/delete the data from websites you have visited and clear the cookies saved in the history. Then, close the browser and reopen it.
Why search here? Allows users to search news articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields.
What's included? Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts, and transcripts. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
Why search here? Excellent place for general research. Provides complete coverage of academic disciplines.
What's included? Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences, and more. Offers access to video content from the Associated Press, the world’s leading news agency. Videos relevant to the search terms will appear in a panel in the result list. With footage from 1930 to the present and updated monthly, this collection of more than 75,000 videos with a wide variety of topics.
Why search here? The PBS Video Collection is a curated, discipline-focused, primary-source collections, websites, and streaming media for learning and research.
What's included? Streaming video products range from exclusive, must-have titles to what’s become the largest library-oriented video database in the world. Includes more than 60,000 video titles across all disciplines. Particularly strong in the fields of counseling, anthropology, history, diversity studies, theatre, film, music, dance, news, current affairs, and the social sciences. In music and dance, there are more than 10 million streaming audio tracks, 1.3 million pages scores, and thousands of video performances, together with reference materials and primary sources.
Why search here? This database includes a rich resource for debaters and general research that includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more.
What's included? Topics include capital punishment to immigration to marijuana, supports subject areas in science, social studies, current events, and language arts.
Check out the library's collection of e-books!
EBSCOhost eBooks CollectionWhy search here? Covers a wide range of academic subjects. What's included? Includes e-books that can be downloaded.
Academic eBooks Collection (EBSCOhost)This link opens in a new windowWhy search here? Search this collection for scholarly and academic e-books. What's included? Includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses.
Gale E-booksThis link opens in a new windowWhy search here? Search Gale reference eBooks. What's included? Full text of a selection of reference e-books.
Plagiarism can be DELIBERATE or UNINTENTIONAL. Whenever you borrow words or ideas, you MUST acknowledge their source to give the author/creator credit and to respect their intellectual property!
The following situations almost always require citation:
turning in someone else's work as your own
failing to put a quotation in quotation marks
giving incorrect information about the source of a quotation
changing words but copying the sentence structure of a source without giving credit
copying so many words or ideas from a source that it makes up the majority of your work [also called "fair use" in copyright law], whether you give credit or not