It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Economics Library Resources : Home
Search Primo, NOT Google!
Primo is a one-search discovery service that provides you with access to many full-text electronic resources such as scholarly journal and magazine articles, newspaper articles and e-books. Primo also serves as the library catalog for MCTC Libraries and allows you to find print books, DVDs and other materials available within our campus libraries. You can search Primo 24/7 on any computer or device with Internet access to find a host of scholarly resources to use for you class assignments!*
NOTE: Students may see a login error when accessing electronic library resources. Often, this error occurs when using Google Chrome. This error is generally caused either by an expired authentication token or a prior sign-in attempt in progress.
To avoid this error, you can close the browser and reopen it in a "private" or "incognito" window. It is recommended that college students and employees always use private browsing to access library electronic content. Using a browser other than Chrome may also prevent this error from occuring. You may also fix this problem by going to your browser settings to the search history and clear/delete the data from websites you have visited and clear the cookies saved in the history. Then, close the browser and reopen it.
About Freakonomics.com: "An economist and a journalist join forces to make the often daunting topic of economics easily understood and digested by general audiences. Its a fun and informative exploration of how the subjects basic principles drive the minutiae of day-to-day existence."
Below are the most current posts to the website, if you are interested.
MCTC Library Economics Journals Available
Below are a SHORT list of economics journals and magazines available through the MCTC Library! You will find more titles and articles searching Primo by keyword (see box above) or by searching databases individually, such as Regional Business News, Business Source Premier and other MCTC resources below. You may also search the MCTC Library Journal Articles AtoZ below on this page.
For more assistance, reach out to the library staff through our chat service, email contact form or by telephone. (See the Ask A Librarian box below to connect with us!)
Note: If you are having trouble accessing the library journal links, follow the directions provided below in the Ask A Librarian box below to make sure you are using a private browsing session or delete your browing history and cookies. Reach out to the library staff if you need help!
Why search here? Business industry’s most used research database.
What's included? Find articles, economic reports, company profiles, industry reports, and videos from business publications in areas such as marketing, management, accounting, and finance. Includes:company profiles, up-to-date company news coverage, organizational structure, and SWOT analyses.
Getting Articles? While most articles are full text some might be citation only, just click on the Get It! icon and complete the form. The library will notify students when article arrives..
Why search here? Allows users to search news articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields.
What's included? Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.t
Why search here? Covers current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics.
What's included? What’s included text
Includes periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
Getting Articles? While most articles are full text some might be citation only, just click on the Get It! icon and complete the form. The library will notify students when article arrives.
More to explore!
Grammar Girl's Quick and Dirty Tips for Better Writing by Mignon FogartyOnline sensation Grammar Girl makes grammar fun and easy in thisNew York Times bestseller Are you stumped by split infinitives? Terrified of using "who" when a "whom" is called for? Do you avoid the words "affect" and "effect" altogether? Grammar Girl is here to help! Mignon Fogarty, a.k.a. Grammar Girl, is determined to wipe out bad grammar--but she's also determined to make the process as painless as possible. A couple of years ago, she created a weekly podcast to tackle some of the most common mistakes people make while communicating. The podcasts have now been downloaded more than twenty million times, and Mignon has dispensed grammar tips onOprah and appeared on the pages ofThe New York Times,The Wall Street Journal, andUSA Today. Written with the wit, warmth, and accessibility that the podcasts are known for,Grammar Girl's Quick and Dirty Tips for Better Writing covers the grammar rules and word-choice guidelines that can confound even the best writers. From "between vs. among" and "although vs. while" to comma splices and misplaced modifiers, Mignon offers memory tricks and clear explanations that will help readers recall and apply those troublesome grammar rules. Chock-full of tips on style, business writing, and effective e-mailing, Grammar Girl's print debut deserves a spot on every communicator's desk.
Call Number: Maysville Book Stacks PE1112 .F64 2008
Publication Date: 2008-07-08
How to say it business writing that works : the simple, 10-step target outline system to help you reach your bottom line by Adina GewirtzThe latest How to Say It(r) guide demonstrates a simple and effective system for persuasive and successful business writing. Here, in an accessible format, is the Target Outline System for everyone looking to communicate well at work. Using ten simple steps, everyone can approach writing for business with ease. With specific examples, this guide shows how to: - Determine the proper audience - Choose the most effective words to convey the bottom line - Craft polished, persuasive prose - Apply this knowledge to everything from e-mail to complicated reports
Call Number: Maysville Book Stacks HF5718.3 .G49 2007
Publication Date: 2007-10-02
LinkedIn for Dummies by Joel EladMake LinkedIn your number one professional branding tool LinkedIn is the premiere social network for professionals looking to discover new opportunities, enhance personal branding, connect with other professionals, and make career advancements. With LinkedIn For Dummies, you'll have step-by-step instructions on how to take advantage of the latest tools and features to do all of this and more. This book will teach you how to create an attractive profile that employers will notice, as well as ways to expand your network by making connections around the globe. You'll also learn how to best navigate the new user interface, write recommendations, take a course with LinkedIn Learning, and conduct your job search. Create an appealing, detailed profile Establish your credibility and personal brand Connect with employers and find jobs Request and write recommendations Whether you're one of LinkedIn's 500 million global members or brand new to the site, this authoritative resource helps you get the most out of the world's largest professional network.
Call Number: Maysville - Montgomery Book Stacks HD69.S8 E43 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-10
The McGraw-Hill 36-Hour Course in Business Writing and Communication by Kenneth W. DavisGuidelines and pointers for adding clarity and persuasiveness to business writing Filled with the contemporary case studies, handson exercises, and self-tests that are the trademark of McGraw-Hill's 36-Hour series, The McGraw-Hill 36-Hour Course in Business Writing and Communication shows readers what they must do to craft a strong message and deliver that message in e-mails, memos, reports, and more.
Call Number: Maysville Book Stacks HF5718.3 .D38 2005
Publication Date: 2005-05-20
The Why Axis by Uri Gneezy; John List; Steven D. Levitt (Foreword by)Can economics be passionate? Can it center on people and what really matters to them day-in and day-out. And help us understand their hidden motives for why they do what they do in everyday life? Uri Gneezy and John List are revolutionaries. Their ideas and methods for revealing what really works in addressing big social, business, and economic problems gives us new understanding of the motives underlying human behavior. We can then structure incentives that can get people to move mountains, change their behavior -- or at least get a better deal. But finding the right incentive can be like looking for a needle in a haystack. Gneezy and List's pioneering approach is to embed themselves in the factories, schools, communities, and offices where people work, live, and play. Then, through large-scale field experiments conducted "in the wild," Gneezy and List observe people in their natural environments without them being aware that they are observed. Their randomized experiments have revealed ways to close the gap between rich and poor students; to stop the violence plaguing inner-city schools; to decipher whether women are really less competitive than men; to correctly price products and services; and to discover the real reasons why people discriminate. To get the answers, Gneezy and List boarded planes, helicopters, trains, and automobiles to embark on journeys from the foothills of Kilimanjaro to California wineries; from sultry northern India to the chilly streets of Chicago; from the playgrounds of schools in Israel to the boardrooms of some of the world's largest corporations. In The Why Axis, they take us along for the ride, and through engaging and colorful stories, present lessons with big payoffs. Their revelatory, startling, and urgent discoveries about how incentives really work are both revolutionary and immensely practical. This research will change both the way we think about and take action on big and little problems. Instead of relying on assumptions, we can find out, through evidence, what really works. Anyone working in business, politics, education, or philanthropy can use the approach Gneezy and List describe in The Why Axis to reach a deeper, nuanced understanding of human behavior, and a better understanding of what motivates people and why.
Call Number: Maysville Book Stacks HB74.P8 G56 2013
Publication Date: 2013-10-08
Awakening Giants, Feet of Clay: assessing the economic rise of China and India by Pranab BardhanA comparative look at the astonishing economic rise of modern China and India The recent economic rise of China and India has attracted a great deal of attention--and justifiably so. Together, the two countries account for one-fifth of the global economy and are projected to represent a full third of the world's income by 2025. Yet, many of the views regarding China and India's market reforms and high growth have been tendentious, exaggerated, or oversimplified. Awakening Giants, Feet of Clay scrutinizes the phenomenal rise of both nations, and demolishes the myths that have accumulated around the economic achievements of these two giants in the last quarter century. Exploring the challenges that both countries must overcome to become true leaders in the international economy, Pranab Bardhan looks beyond short-run macroeconomic issues to examine and compare China and India's major policy changes, political and economic structures, and current general performance. Bardhan investigates the two countries' economic reforms, each nation's pattern and composition of growth, and the problems afflicting their agricultural, industrial, infrastructural, and financial sectors. He considers how these factors affect China and India's poverty, inequality, and environment, how political factors shape each country's pattern of burgeoning capitalism, and how significant poverty reduction in both countries is mainly due to domestic factors--not global integration, as most would believe. He shows how authoritarianism has distorted Chinese development while democratic governance in India has been marred by severe accountability failures. Full of valuable insights, Awakening Giants, Feet of Clay provides a nuanced picture of China and India's complex political economy at a time of startling global reconfiguration and change.
Call Number: Online access
Publication Date: 2012-12-30
Capitalism Without Capital by Jonathan Haskel; Stian WestlakeThe first comprehensive account of the growing dominance of the intangible economy Early in the twenty-first century, a quiet revolution occurred. For the first time, the major developed economies began to invest more in intangible assets, like design, branding, R&D, and software, than in tangible assets, like machinery, buildings, and computers. For all sorts of businesses, from tech firms and pharma companies to coffee shops and gyms, the ability to deploy assets that one can neither see nor touch is increasingly the main source of long-term success. But this is not just a familiar story of the so-called new economy. Capitalism without Capital shows that the growing importance of intangible assets has also played a role in some of the big economic changes of the last decade. The rise of intangible investment is, Jonathan Haskel and Stian Westlake argue, an underappreciated cause of phenomena from economic inequality to stagnating productivity. Haskel and Westlake bring together a decade of research on how to measure intangible investment and its impact on national accounts, showing the amount different countries invest in intangibles, how this has changed over time, and the latest thinking on how to assess this. They explore the unusual economic characteristics of intangible investment, and discuss how these features make an intangible-rich economy fundamentally different from one based on tangibles. Capitalism without Capital concludes by presenting three possible scenarios for what the future of an intangible world might be like, and by outlining how managers, investors, and policymakers can exploit the characteristics of an intangible age to grow their businesses, portfolios, and economies.
Call Number: Maysville Book Stacks HF5681.I55 H37 2018
Publication Date: 2017-11-28
People, Power, and Profits by Joseph E. StiglitzA Nobel prize winner challenges us to throw off the free market fundamentalists and reclaim our economy. We all have the sense that the American economy--and its government--tilts toward big business, but as Joseph E. Stiglitz explains in his new book, People, Power, and Profits, the situation is dire. A few corporations have come to dominate entire sectors of the economy, contributing to skyrocketing inequality and slow growth. This is how the financial industry has managed to write its own regulations, tech companies have accumulated reams of personal data with little oversight, and our government has negotiated trade deals that fail to represent the best interests of workers. Too many have made their wealth through exploitation of others rather than through wealth creation. If something isn't done, new technologies may make matters worse, increasing inequality and unemployment. Stiglitz identifies the true sources of wealth and of increases in standards of living, based on learning, advances in science and technology, and the rule of law. He shows that the assault on the judiciary, universities, and the media undermines the very institutions that have long been the foundation of America's economic might and its democracy. Helpless though we may feel today, we are far from powerless. In fact, the economic solutions are often quite clear. We need to exploit the benefits of markets while taming their excesses, making sure that markets work for us--the U.S. citizens--and not the other way around. If enough citizens rally behind the agenda for change outlined in this book, it may not be too late to create a progressive capitalism that will recreate a shared prosperity. Stiglitz shows how a middle-class life can once again be attainable by all. An authoritative account of the predictable dangers of free market fundamentalism and the foundations of progressive capitalism, People, Power, and Profits shows us an America in crisis, but also lights a path through this challenging time.
Call Number: Maysville Book Stacks HC110.W4 S75 2019