Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychology Resources: Psychology

This library guide includes links to specific library resources to help you with your pyschology coursework. Here, you can also find information about APA Style and avoiding plagiarism. BE SURE TO SCROLL DOWN THE PAGE and look at ALL of the boxes!

Search Primo, NOT Google!

Discover books, journal articles, and more . . .

Primo is a one-search discovery service that provides you with access to many full-text electronic resources such as scholarly journal and magazine articles, newspaper articles and e-books. Primo also serves as the library catalog for MCTC Libraries and allows you to find print books, DVDs and other materials available within our campus libraries. You can search Primo 24/7 on any computer or device with Internet access to find a host of scholarly resources to use for you class assignments!* 

*For more information about accessing full-text electronic articles, e-books, videos and more, visit the "Off Campus Access Instructions" located under Help on the MCTC Library Homepage

More Library Resources

Need help with your research project?

Do you struggle with doing research? Do you have trouble figuring out what resources to consult for research? Are you confused about MLA or APA citation? Then, you should check out the Research Succes Toolkit! The link to this LibGuide below will provide you with a roadmap to complete your next research assignment from start to finish.  

Accessing E-Books

Use the hand-out above to help you understand how you can access the library's e-book collections, including which smart devices you can download e-book content onto.

Word cloud of mindset concepts

Image by John Hain from Pixabay 

Psychology Databases

Search for scholarly information within these library databases for articles that are appropriate to use for your research assignments.

Find E-book

 The MCTC library has over 260,000 ebooks on-demand 24/7! 

Ask a Librarian

If you have a question and would like to chat with a librarian, click on the "Chat Now?" button below.

 

If you would like to schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian, click on the button Schedule Appointment with Librarian.


If you need help and Chat is offline, contact us through "Ask A Librarian" form. We will respond as soon as we can. 

You may also call (606)759-7141, ext. 66206. 


Can't get to the databases? Go to the Off-Campus Instructions library guide. 

NOTE: Students may see a login error when accessing electronic library resources. Often, this error occurs when using Google Chrome. This error is generally caused either by an expired authentication token or a prior sign-in attempt in progress. 

To avoid this error, you can close the browser and reopen it in a "private" or "incognito" window. It is recommended that college students and employees always use private browsing to access library electronic content. Using a browser other than Chrome may also prevent this error from occuring. You may also fix this problem by going to your browser settings to the search history and clear/delete the data from websites you have visited and clear the cookies saved in the history. Then, close the browser and reopen it. 

APA Citation Resources

Anytime you use information from a source, be sure to include a citation to give that source credit. The links below will help you better understand APA Style formatting.

Avoiding Plagiarism

Plagiarism can be DELIBERATE or UNINTENTIONAL. Whenever you borrow words or ideas, you MUST acknowledge their source to give the author/creator credit and to respect their intellectual property!

The following situations almost always require citation:

  • turning in someone else's work as your own
  • failing to put a quotation in quotation marks
  • giving incorrect information about the source of a quotation
  • changing words but copying the sentence structure of a source without giving credit
  • copying so many words or ideas from a source that it makes up the majority of your work [also called "fair use" in copyright law], whether you give credit or not 

--excerpt from Plagiarism.org


For more help understanding plagiarism and citation for research papers, consult the library's Citation Guide.