LibGuides: WGS201 Women's Studies in Arts and Humanities: Library Resources for WGS201

Course Description

Introduces women’s and gender studies from a humanities perspective, using a cross-cultural and interdisciplinary approach including art and literature. Examines issues and problems of women in contemporary society through the lens of race, gender, class, and socio-political spheres.

Need a book or DVD we don't own?

Try our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Service!

Request materials from another library
How to request a book, article or other item that the MCTC library does not have for students, faculty and staff of MCTC.

Scholarly Sources for Research

Search for scholarly information within these library databases for articles that are appropriate to use for your research assignments.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference
Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of Religion in America
Films on Demand
Fine Arts and Music Collection This link opens in a new window
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Pop Culture Studies This link opens in a new window
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
U.S. History: Gale In Context This link opens in a new window
World History Collection (Gale OneFile)

E-books

MCTC Library Ebooks Collection Handout
Instructions on how to use the ebooks.

eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
What's included? E-books covering a large selection of academic subjects.
Career Preparation This link opens in a new window
What's included? Ebooks, tutorials, practice tests, flashcards, and more to help prepare for a professional exam, provide information on occupations, or help improve workplace skills.
You may browse content on this site before registering. Once you locate an individual learning resource (tutorial, practice test, article, flashcards, or e-book), that you would like to use, you will be prompted to register before you can access it. Registration also gives you access to “My Center,” where you can save any learning resource in progress for future completion, or to reuse an item.

To register from a computer on campus, click the “Sign In/Register” from the upper right side of the blue horizontal navigation bar at the top of any page of the site. Click the “Register” button to register as a new user, verify your institution and enter your information in the required fields, and then click “Register.”

For future visits, sign in as a Returning User with your email address as your username and the password you created at registration.
Credo Reference

What's included? Articles from reference books such as almanacs, biographies, dictionaries, handbooks, and more for beginning research.
eBook Community College Collection This link opens in a new window
What's included? A multidisciplinary e-book collection.
eBooks K-8 Collection (EBSCOhost ) This link opens in a new window
What's included? Covers topics for K-8 students across all subject areas taught in elementary and middle schools.
eBook Nursing Collection This link opens in a new window
What's included? Designed for use in hospitals, medical institutions and academic institutions.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection (Netlibrary)

What's included? Covers a wide range of academic subjects.
Encyclopedia of Religion in America
What's included? Covers religious history and practices woven into the political, social, cultural, and historical landscape of North America.
Gale E-books This link opens in a new window

What's included? Includes a collection of reference e-books.
LearningExpress Library This link opens in a new window

What's included? Includes interactive tutorials, practice exams, flashcards, articles and e-books for job search and workplace skills improvement, skill building in reading, writing, math and basic science, career certification and licensure exam prep, college and grad school entrance test prep, GED test prep, and more.
You may browse content on this site before registering. Once you locate an individual learning resource (tutorial, practice test, article, flashcards, or e-book), that you would like to use, you will be prompted to register before you can access it. Registration also gives you access to “My Center,” where you can save any learning resource in progress for future completion, or to reuse an item.

To register from a computer on campus, click the “Sign In/Register” from the upper right side of the blue horizontal navigation bar at the top of any page of the site. Click the “Register” button to register as a new user, verify your institution and enter your information in the required fields, and then click “Register.”

For future visits, sign in as a Returning User with your email address as your username and the password you created at registration.
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window

What's included? Covers all genres and time periods with plot summaries, essays of literary criticism, author biographies, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems, classic and contemporary short stories, and author biographies, plus lesson plans and literary study guides.

Search Our Journal Titles A to Z!

MCTC Library Journals A-Z
Search here to find TITLES of scholarly journals and magazines available within the MCTC library subscription databases.

Ask a Librarian

If you need help, contact us through "Ask a Librarian"!

If you would like schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian, click here.

If you would like help from a librarian with your topic or just how to get started, schedule a time either in person or virtually in Teams.

WGS201 Women's Studies in Arts and Humanities: Library Resources for WGS201

This is better than Google!

Need more help using the Library Search Box? Follow this short tutorial to get tips for more effective searching!