MLA Handbook by
Teaching and learning MLA style is about to get easier. For nearly seventy years, the Modern Language Association has helped student writers choose trustworthy sources and use them to support their own ideas. Now, the authority on writing and research presents the clearest approach to MLA style yet with the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook. The ninth edition works as both a textbook and a reference guide. Focusing on source evaluation, it features a wealth of visual examples and updated advice on punctuation and grammar, footnotes and endnotes, annotated bibliographies, and paper formatting. An all-in-one resource that makes MLA style easier to learn and use, the MLA Handbook includes: Expanded, in-depth guidance on creating works-cited-list entries using the MLA template of core elements that explains what each core element is, where to find it in various sources, and how to style it. A new, easy-to-follow explanation of in-text citations. A new chapter containing recommendations for using inclusive language. A new appendix with hundreds of sample works-cited-list entries by publication format, including books, databases, websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more. Updated guidelines on avoiding plagiarism. Although there are numerous websites, apps, reference works, and cheat sheets that claim to help with MLA style, there's only one truly authoritative resource to help your students on their paths to becoming better writers. The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is the most comprehensive guide the MLA has ever produced, with an all-inclusive approach to writing, research, documentation, and formatting.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by 
The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th Edition by
**The 16th edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been superseded by the 17th edition.** While digital technologies have revolutionized the publishing world in the twenty-first century, one thing still remains true: The Chicago Manual of Style is the authoritative, trusted source that writers, editors, and publishers turn to for guidance on style and process. For the sixteenth edition, every aspect of coverage has been reconsidered to reflect how publishing professionals work today. Though processes may change, the Manual continues to offer the clear, well-considered style and usage advice it has for more than a century. The sixteenth edition offers expanded information on producing electronic publications, including web-based content and e-books. An updated appendix on production and digital technology demystifies the process of electronic workflow and offers a primer on the use of XML markup, and a revised glossary includes a host of terms associated with electronic as well as print publishing. The Chicago system of documentation has been streamlined and adapted for a variety of online and digital sources. Figures and tables are updated throughout the book--including a return to the Manual's popular hyphenation table and new, comprehensive listings of Unicode numbers for special characters.
Additional citation guides to help you!
YouTube Video: Watch this video to learn about properly using research sources in your writing.
To respect intellectual property rights of authors and creators, know when you need to cite sources!
You must cite:
You may not need to cite:
If you are unsure whether or not you should cite, use caution and provide a citation!
Academic integrity means that as a student you agree to be responsible and honest in relation to your academic pursuits.
Furthermore; as an MCTC student you are expected to do your own work. All academic writing must show student’s own understanding in student’s own words.
Taken from KCTCS Student Code of Conduct:
SECTION 3: STANDARDS OF CONDUCT
In order to foster a positive campus community and maintain an optimal learning environment, KCTCS establishes the following behavioral expectations of students:
Standard 1: KCTCS students are expected to adhere to the highest standards of academic honesty and integrity, and support a campus environment that is conducive to learning and scholarship. Violations or attempted violations may include, but are not limited to: 1. Cheating, fabrication, plagiarism or facilitating academic dishonesty.