LibGuides: ENG101 MCTC Library Research Strategy: #Refining: E-books & More

#Refining: E-Books, Newspaper, Streaming Content, and More

Can't Get to Campus? Use Library Resources Anywhere 24/7

For students who are on campus taking classes, getting to the library to gather research material (articles and books on the shelf) may not be a hassle.

But what about the students who are online only and live too far away from one of MCTC's campus libraries?

You can access the library e-books at any time! There are thousands of online books to view on your computer.
Newspapers are all online, too. They provide up-to-date, current information, but not scholarly research.
Streaming video collections provide documentary and researched information. You can access these at any time. Videos can be found in several database collections besides the all-streaming video databases.

There are lists below with links to the e-books, newspapers, and video collections.

You can always go to the library homepage and click on the tile for Resources and find the list to all of the individual databases library provides access to for you.

When you are off-campus, you need to be sure that you have logged into MyPath first. Because trying to get into any of the library databases off-campus will want you to authenticate your access as an MCTC student. But once you have logged into MyPath (even Blackboard, or your KCTCS email first) your access to the library databases will be seamless. Review the Off-Campus Database Access Instructions if you are still having problems logging in.

If you need help viewing the e-boooks, review this handout.

E-books

MCTC Library Ebooks Collection Handout
Instructions on how to use the ebooks.

Academic eBooks Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Search this collection for scholarly and academic e-books.
- What's included? Includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses.
Career Preparation This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Are you preparing for a professional exam? Are you curious about a particular occupation or looking to improve your workplace skills? Begin exploring your future here.
- What's included? Ebooks, tutorials, practice tests, flashcards, and more.
You may browse content on this site before registering. Once you locate an individual learning resource (tutorial, practice test, article, flashcards, or e-book), that you would like to use, you will be prompted to register before you can access it. Registration also gives you access to “My Center,” where you can save any learning resource in progress for future completion, or to reuse an item.

To register from a computer on campus, click the “Sign In/Register” from the upper right side of the blue horizontal navigation bar at the top of any page of the site. Click the “Register” button to register as a new user, verify your institution and enter your information in the required fields, and then click “Register.”

For future visits, sign in as a Returning User with your email address as your username and the password you created at registration.
Credo Reference
- Why search here? Great starting place for background information on subjects in hundreds of disciplines, including important current topics.
- What's included? Articles from reference books such as almanacs, biographies, dictionaries, handbooks, and more.
Includes "Research Quick Tips" videos to help students learn and develop lifelong skills to find, evaluate and use information effectively.
eBook Community College Collection This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Focused on the academic needs of community colleges is a multidisciplinary e-book collection.
- What's included? Includes more than 61,000 titles from notable publishers.
eBooks K-8 Collection (EBSCOhost ) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Supports a quality learning experience for K-8 students across all subject areas taught in elementary and middle schools.
- What's included? 15,000 e-books, new ones added regularly, popular e-books for kids and pre-teens.
eBook Nursing Collection This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Designed for use in hospitals, medical institutions and academic institutions.
- What's included? From clinical guides and evidence-based practice manuals to practical handbooks and professional growth titles, this collection includes more than 720 ebooks that provides researchers the information they need to provide outstanding care.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection
- Why search here? Covers a wide range of academic subjects.
- What's included? Includes e-books that can be downloaded.
Encyclopedia of Religion in America
- Why search here? Examines how religious history and practices are woven into the political, social, cultural, and historical landscape of North America.
- What's included? Scholarly essays issue in a wide variety of social science disciplines, from American history to cultural studies, political science, gender studies, psychology of religion, and more. It reflects new scholarly research and interpretation that have emerged over the last two decades, as well as significant new areas of study, such as post-9/11 America, the role of gays and lesbians in church, gender, and the role of the evangelicals in American political life.
Gale E-books This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Search Gale reference eBooks.
- What's included? Full text of a selection of reference e-books.
LearningExpress Library This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Offers job search and workplace skills improvement, skill building in reading, writing, math and basic science, career certification and licensure exam prep, college and grad school entrance test prep, GED test prep, and more.
- What's included? Includes interactive tutorials, practice exams, flashcards, articles and e-books.
You may browse content on this site before registering. Once you locate an individual learning resource (tutorial, practice test, article, flashcards, or e-book), that you would like to use, you will be prompted to register before you can access it. Registration also gives you access to “My Center,” where you can save any learning resource in progress for future completion, or to reuse an item.

To register from a computer on campus, click the “Sign In/Register” from the upper right side of the blue horizontal navigation bar at the top of any page of the site. Click the “Register” button to register as a new user, verify your institution and enter your information in the required fields, and then click “Register.”

For future visits, sign in as a Returning User with your email address as your username and the password you created at registration.
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? A literature database covering all genres and time periods.
- What's included? Includes thousands of plot summaries, essays of literary criticism, author biographies, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems, classic and contemporary short stories, and author biographies, plus lesson plans and literary study guides.

E-Reference Resources

Adult Core Skills This link opens in a new window
You may browse content on this site before registering. Once you locate an individual learning resource (tutorial, practice test, article, flashcards, or e-book), that you would like to use, you will be prompted to register before you can access it. Registration also gives you access to “My Center,” where you can save any learning resource in progress for future completion, or to reuse an item.

To register from a computer on campus, click the “Sign In/Register” from the upper right side of the blue horizontal navigation bar at the top of any page of the site. Click the “Register” button to register as a new user, verify your institution and enter your information in the required fields, and then click “Register.”

For future visits, sign in as a Returning User with your email address as your username and the password you created at registration.
Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Career Preparation This link opens in a new window
You may browse content on this site before registering. Once you locate an individual learning resource (tutorial, practice test, article, flashcards, or e-book), that you would like to use, you will be prompted to register before you can access it. Registration also gives you access to “My Center,” where you can save any learning resource in progress for future completion, or to reuse an item.

To register from a computer on campus, click the “Sign In/Register” from the upper right side of the blue horizontal navigation bar at the top of any page of the site. Click the “Register” button to register as a new user, verify your institution and enter your information in the required fields, and then click “Register.”

For future visits, sign in as a Returning User with your email address as your username and the password you created at registration.
Credo Reference
Includes "Research Quick Tips" videos to help students learn and develop lifelong skills to find, evaluate and use information effectively.
Encyclopedia of Religion in America
Gale E-books This link opens in a new window
Job & Career Accelerator This link opens in a new window
You may browse content on this site before registering. Once you locate an individual learning resource (tutorial, practice test, article, flashcards, or e-book), that you would like to use, you will be prompted to register before you can access it. Registration also gives you access to “My Center,” where you can save any learning resource in progress for future completion, or to reuse an item.

To register from a computer on campus, click the “Sign In/Register” from the upper right side of the blue horizontal navigation bar at the top of any page of the site. Click the “Register” button to register as a new user, verify your institution and enter your information in the required fields, and then click “Register.”

For future visits, sign in as a Returning User with your email address as your username and the password you created at registration.
LearningExpress Library This link opens in a new window
You may browse content on this site before registering. Once you locate an individual learning resource (tutorial, practice test, article, flashcards, or e-book), that you would like to use, you will be prompted to register before you can access it. Registration also gives you access to “My Center,” where you can save any learning resource in progress for future completion, or to reuse an item.

To register from a computer on campus, click the “Sign In/Register” from the upper right side of the blue horizontal navigation bar at the top of any page of the site. Click the “Register” button to register as a new user, verify your institution and enter your information in the required fields, and then click “Register.”

For future visits, sign in as a Returning User with your email address as your username and the password you created at registration.

ENG101 MCTC Library Research Strategy

Streaming Videos and Online Media Resources

Newspaper Sources

Can't Get to Campus? Use Library Resources Anywhere 24/7

E-books

E-Reference Resources